Hello!!! I am Jialin, I am the new member to the New Media Team. I am sorry I do not have a photo of myself but you will probably see it soon! I have just graduated from NUS, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. My major is Communications and New Media. So guess what, I am back working in New Media again! I also have a minor in Technopreneurship (NUS Business School). Many of you may be wondering what exactly is technopreneurship. Well, it means techno- entrepreneurship. The program aims to encourage and develop the potential of NUS undergraduates in starting up a technology-based business.

This is Amanda, she is my new colleague at New Media, she is also from NUS!

This is Amanda, she is my new colleague at New Media, she is also from NUS!

Marcus! Happy to finish work and head down for the buffet.

Marcus! Happy to finish work and head down for the buffet.

I am currently working on the Virtual Space/World aspect of the New Media division. I am very honored to be part of the SYOGOC and to work on a ‘Virtual SYOG’. Many of you have no idea what the virtual space of SYOG is going to be like, to be honest, neither do I. There are just too many ideas out there “floating in the ether. You just have to put yourselves in a frame of mind to pick them up”- Paul Arden in the book ‘It’s Not How Good You Are, It’s How Good You Want to Be’. For my first day, I am trying to absorb all the information at hand before my ideas run wild. Yes, this week, I have been reading this book by Paul Arden. Paul Arden is the creative genius, who found his Alma Mater in Saatchi and Saatchi. It is an amazing book indeed, it inspires and challenges some of our old believes in the advertising industry. Although, you may not be in the advertising industry but you will still find it useful in your work and school, when pitching an idea to your teachers, boss or client, dealing with the challenges ahead or simply making that first impression to your colleagues and clients.

We are squashed!

We are squashed!

Talking about the challenges in work (in fact that this is only my first day), beside the huge amount of background information about SYOG that I have to comprehend, there is this part call ‘getting to know your colleagues’. As I went down the office, shaking hands with my new colleagues, I realize I do not have the capacity to remember their names, worse, matching the names to the faces. The last time I was still able to do this, was in secondary school, where I had to remember 40 of them. This is no joke. There are certainly more than 40 of them in the office. There are three Alvins, who I need to know, Alvin Low, Alvin Goh….and erm… I’ve got mixed up already.

Standing out among the Alvins

Standing out among the Alvins

My first day at work, ended with a chit-chat session with everyone, including the board of directors and CEOs. It is a good time for sharing our problems, inspirations and things to improve, especially since many of us are new to YOG and the office is still extremely new! After that, we had a buffet..wa good food and good time for bonding among the colleagues. I really enjoyed myself today! (Oops by the time I post this, it will be Saturday 19 July already)

It an interesting time of introductions

It an interesting time of introductions

More about my hobbies. I love to travel and I am into photography. I just went on a graduation trip to U.S. I love the National Parks, like Grand Canyon and Yosemite (the only two, which I manage to cover this round). I cannot even find a word to describe the scenery of these two places. It seems a little surreal upon landing your feet on Grand Canyon and Yosemite. I was just dumbfounded by God’s creation. I am so happy that I manage to take some nice shots during this trip. I am very inspired by a photographer –Ansel Adam during my visit to Grand Canyon, his photography books and post cards lined the souvenir shops. He is known for his black and white series of the National Parks. Or course, he has to be a great hiker to be able to capture those great shots. I have been trying to source for new places in Singapore to take photos. Yea, so the photography enthusiasts out there, if you have any good recommendations please let me know!

Pictures I took at Yosemite and Grandcanyon

Pictures I took at Yosemite and Grandcanyon

I’ve always been a fan of the sports events, including Olympics, Sea Games and even the World Cup. I was the face and body painter at the launch of the Fifa World Cup in Singapore a few years ago. It was amazing how enthusiastic the soccer fans were, they were all excited to get the flag of their favorite teams painted on their faces or arms or even legs! I remember staying up late with my mum and elder brother (my family is into these too!) to watch the live or re-runs of the sports events. It is also a great opportunity for family bonding. I can’t wait for the Beijing 2008 Olympics and or course our very own SYOG. I am sure SYOG is going to be of a different experience from the Beijing 2008, especially for the youths. It is specially catered to YOUths.

