For those of you who’ve been living under a rock with industrial-strength earplugs on, no, there is nothing rude about my headline at all.

This is a Vuvuzela.

vuvuvuvuzela

Very loud, very irritating

Yes, this thing has caused much discomfort for folks at the World Cup: Players (Patrice Evra, Lionel Messi, and Cristiano Ronaldo are not fans of this thing), commentators (it’s been likened to “a giant hive full of very angry bees”), and people watching at home (i can’t repeat what they’ve said about this thing without blushing) alike.

You wouldn’t think that something whose name sounds like the reproductive organ of a female zebra would be as loud as this thing is, but it clocks in at 127 decibels – that’s just a vuvu-whisker shy of a jackhammer (130 decibels).

I’ve checked the spectators’ guide for the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games, and no, you will not be able to bring along your Vuvuzelas. (But I’ve also found a free application that gives out a little whimper of what the vuvuzela sounds like on the iPhone. It’s still muchos irritating though! 😉 ) Just thought I’d let you know before anyone gets any ideas …!

And in other news, I’m blogging from Kuala Lumpur this evening and not sure if I’ll be able to sign in tomorrow (cousin’s wedding to attend) but normal service will resume on Sunday. Don’t miss me too much! 😉

