Day #1 of the Torch Relay is drawing to a close at Nanyang Polytechnic, where I hear that the celebrations are in full swing. Although I didn’t get the chance to leave my very cold meatlocker office, I’ve seen some tweets, pics, twitpics and videos that areΒ  just goosebump-inducing.

@jk_lsy tweeted, “The MOMENT of holding the YOG torch might be just a moment, but the MEMORY will last a lifetime. Thank you @Singapore2010!

@jasatan tweeted, “Just accomplished e most glorious moment in my life..bearing the torch of the Youth Olympic Games”

Without sounding cheesy and melodramatic, I can see what Jeremy meant when he said that Vancouver only woke up with the flame at their doorstep.

Outside SPH

You really can't ignore the YOG "buzz" when it's buzzing right at your doorstep

It’s as if Singaporeans have suddenly woken up to YOG-mania. Even with the pouring rain.

raincoats

How often do parents let their kids out in the rain? Like... never??

And this was my favourite pic of the day:

rain, rain go away

Rain or shine, there won't be another time

If you’re flame-mad now (like the rest of Singapore), you can track the flame through the 6-day torch relay with this handy page. Our videos on the torch relay are also coming up shortly. I think you’ll like them. πŸ™‚

